Unchain My Heart

I’m under your spell like a man in a trance
But I know darn well, that I don’t stand a chance so
Unchain my heart, let me go my way
Unchain my heart, you worry me night and day
Why lead me through a life of misery
When you don’t care a bag of beans for me
So unchain my heart, oh please, please set me free

-Ray Charles

Did you know that the shape of the heart was actually not based off of a human heart at all, but rather based off the shape of ivy which people used to exchange to symbolize their affection and esteem?  While for some people the idea of heart jewelry might feel a little bit ickily sentimental, or trite (as my neon guru once said, “Really? You’re gonna make a heart?  Do you have to?”), for some it can take a bit of tongue-in-cheek sauce, especially when paired with chains.  And a short skirt.  And some knee socks.  With heels.

 

Mignon Faget

Mignon Faget

Pamela Love locket

Pamela Love locket

Glassenamelbyjulie on etsy

Glassenamelbyjulie on etsy

N183T-2T sacred_heart_of_jesus_framed_necklace

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

